Sing Unto the Lord


My hero
June 6, 2008, 11:25 am
Filed under: Everything else

When I was 18 in my first year of uni I bought a book called ‘Holiness’ by JC Ryle. I’d never heard of him or the book before but I was in that age where I gambled money on whims and fancies. As I read the first chapter on Sin (I can remember sitting in front of my parents fireplace at home, wearing a blue t-shirt – must have stuck in my head) I was blown away at the way this guy wrote. He applied scripture like a hot iron. There was no compromise, no getting out of it, no ‘in my context it’s ok to do that…’ He was straight down the line and convicting. I found it refreshing to read someone who was so honest and who didn’t allow me to shrink back from the call of God’s word on my life.

I’ve since read ‘Holiness’ three times as well as reading ‘Practical Religion’, his devotional/expositional commentary on Matthew, and articles on worship, prayer, sickness and warnings to young men. I shared him with many of my brothers. JC Ryle has been dead for over a hundred years now (its coming up to his death anniversary 14th June) and yet I still find him relevant, compelling and helpful.

In the lead up to his ‘death day’ I’m going to post a series of points from ‘Holiness’ on the marks of a Christian who loves Christ. I found it helpful. I hope you do too.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

