Sing Unto the Lord


The nite that was
July 22, 2008, 10:54 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Last nite went off. People sung their lungs out. The three bands played well and best of all Jesus was praised. Leading up to the night was really stressful. One of our main guys, Todd, got pneumonia last week and went to Hospital. We had to quickly find replacements. But then at 2:00 yesterday he sent me a message saying he had been discharged and was going to play.

I’m so glad he did. It was awesome doing something like this for our bands. They found it really encouraging and I think the people who went along had heaps of fun. The trick now is how to capture that energy and produce it on a Sunday night. I think one key is giving people permission to express themselves. I encouraged people to clap, cheer and raise their hands at the beginning of the night. Not for the great bands but as an overflow of the joy they felt as they sang about their King.

I think another way is to sing more songs together. People don’t get tired of singing. They get pumped by it. We sang twelve songs last night and people wanted more. I reckon we might try moving to four songs at the beginning of our meetings at church. We’ll see.

Awesome night though. We shouldhave the CD out by the end of September/early October.

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

it was sick!

i head a couple of people saying we should do it once a month ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment by Alex

Haha definitely at least once a year, John thought every 6 months ๐Ÿ˜›
Your talk was great, Dan. I’m glad there was some preaching and Bible reading – it gave us something to sing about. You could even preach for longer/read more Bible.

Comment by hayesy

Didn’t the SaturdayEv guys do 4 songs inclusive of the ‘offering song’ at the beginning of last sun?

Comment by Joel C

People don’t get tired of singing but their throats do.

Comment by Luke C

Thought you might find this article interesting.

Comment by hayesy

throats schmoats thats what i say….haha

Yeh a mad time.

Comment by Max

maybe my computer is bad or maybe my computer skills are worse than my grandma’s (and she’s dead!), but your link hayesy doesn’t work. But my interest is piqued.

Comment by jackson

oooops
Try again. (I think it was this link… :O)

Comment by hayesy

and <a href=”http://creative2567.blogspot.com/2008/07/charismatic-culture.html”a follow-up blog post.

Comment by hayesy

4 songs before sermon sounds great – but I reckon more songs after the sermon is even better. After the bible reading + sermon I know I’m just keen to keep singing for a while and I know others who’ve said the same. Just thoughts.

Comment by ricky

hello
I just found your blog and I liked it. God bless U! ๐Ÿ™‚
JCHC

Comment by chriscolours




Leave a Reply

