Sing Unto the Lord


Driscoll on the coast music
August 26, 2008, 11:40 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Last night went well. We had to do some songs that everyone would know. We tried these:

Blessed be your name

Nothing but the Blood (Matt Redman)

When I survey

Let your Kingdom come

I thought Let your kingdom come would be a bit of a risk, but people belted it out. We wrote a new bridge for When I survey to sing on the night. It worked nicely having something a bit different in the Hymn. We’ve found that a few times that sticking a new bridge into an old hymn can highlight some of the truths of the hymn in a new way. This was our new bit:

‘On the cross, my Saviour died

Lord of Life now crucified

And all I am belongs to Him

On that cross He bore my sin’

‘When I Survey’ is all about dying to yourself and living for Jesus. The cross humbles you. The cross demands a response.

Mark spoke faithfully and convictingly. I’m looking forward to tonight with some more item-y stuff and a call to non-christians. Be praying.


5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The bridge at the start didn’t ‘feel’ right to me, it worked much better at the end. That’s just my opinion, though.

Comment by Luke C

We were hoping for the bridge to work at the end – which is why we started with it, to subconsciously make it familiar.
Good point though.

Last night was gold!

Comment by joelpj

I didn’t know the song to begin with, so it seemed to flow all together well!

Comment by Joel C

Daniel’s my brother…

Comment by Tim

yeah daniel’s brother…

Comment by Max




Leave a comment